参与 calibre

calibre 成功的秘诀在于其充满活力的用户社区。用户贡献了代码,将 calibre 翻译不同的语言,改善了它的外观和感觉,当然还有数以千计的错误报告,促进其成为强健的软件。 此处提供了对 calibre 有贡献的不完整列表。

加入 calibre 社区

要与其他 calibre 用户交流并了解 calibre 领域的最新发展,可以使用以下几种工具:

创建 calibre 插件

calibre 有一个全面的插件界面,可以创建几乎可以做任何事情的插件。有关更多示例,请参阅calibre Plugins 论坛。论坛上有很多有用的关于插件开发的入门教程。

翻译 calibre

calibre 支持翻译其用户界面。您可以在此处查看已存在的翻译语言列表。如果该列表中某项语言翻译不完整/缺失,可以简单的使用Web界面贡献翻译。要做到这一点,首先要在 Transifex中创建一个帐户,然后在 此页面中单击需要语言。点击 "加入团队"按钮。一旦获得批准,只需在此处 此处单击您想要翻译的语言,然后使用 "立即翻译"按钮进行翻译。

或者,也可以使用 "下载以进行翻译" 链接而不是 "立即翻译" 按钮来下载PO文件以进行脱机翻译。可以根据自己的喜好使用翻译软件,PO文件编辑完成后,单击 "上传文件"链接(位于 "下载以进行翻译" 链接的正下方)上传该文件。

翻译常见问题

  • 如何处理 & 符号?
    对于 & 符号,它表示键盘快捷键。例如,字符串 "&Title" 表示可以使用键盘快捷键 “Alt+t” 访问相应的GUI元素(仅适用于Windows/Linux)。因此在翻译中,应尽可能的保留字母(或其他合适的字母)前面的 & 符号。
  • 如何处理%A_WORD”字符?
    对于 % 字符及其右侧的单词((百分号和单词之间没有空格)表示将由代码替换的单词。因此,当遇到此符号及其旁边的单词(例如:%default)时,不要更改,在翻译的句子中保持原样。同样,对于 %s 或 %d 之类的序列,请保留其原样。最后,像%(SOME_WORD)s 这样的序列也应该保持不变。
  • 如何处理带有 {word} 构造的句子?
    这些是占位符,不得翻译。代码将用实际内容替换它们。
  • 如何处理像dd MMM yyy这样的日期字符串?
    这些字符串必须保留为未翻译。
  • 翻译用户手册时如何处理特殊标记?
    用户手册是以 ReSTructured 文本编写的。 您将看到许多类似 :guilabel:`Some text`的结构。这里的 :guilabel:`` 部分是标识,就像HTML标识一样,应该只翻译反引号内的文本。此外必须特别注意以下形式的链接:
    • :ref:`some text` 这里的任何东西都不能翻译。
    • :ref:`Some text <link-location>` 这里只有 "Some text" 必须翻译
    • :doc:`generated/en/something` 应该换成 :doc:`generated/目标语言代码/something`。例如,在德语中,将 :doc:`generated/en/cli-index` 修改为 :doc:`generated/de/cli-index`
  • 如何测试我的翻译?
    首先,需要从此处下载适用于您的语言的.po文件。可以通过将环境变量 CALIBRE_TEST_TRANSING 设置为下载的.po文件的路径来测试.po文件。然后像往常一样运行calibre。目前,无法测试用户手册的翻译。

成为 calibre 的开发者

获取源代码

git clone git://github.com/kovidgoyal/calibre.git

或者,如果您不想等待下载完整的历史版本代码,可以只获得源代码:

curl -L http://code.calibre-ebook.com/dist/src | tar xvJ

有关使用源代码签出运行 calibre 的说明,以及有关 calibre 代码的组织方式的一些信息,请参见用户手册

如果你想出了一个很酷的想法和实现它的补丁,让立即让我们知道,它很可能会在下一周的版本中发布。一个询问 calibre 开发技巧的好地方是 calibre 开发论坛,很多 calibre 开发人员都在这里闲逛。

选择你想要的语言

Getting involved with calibre

The secret of calibre's success is its vibrant user community. Users have contributed code and become developers, translations to make calibre available in different languages, graphics to improve its look and feel and of course thousands of bug reports to help make it the robust piece of software it is today. An incomplete list of contributors to calibre is available here.

Joining the calibre community

To talk with fellow calibre users and keep abreast of the latest developments in calibre-world, you can use several tools:

Creating a calibre plugin

calibre has a comprehensive plugin interface, that allows the creation of plugins that can do just about anything. For many examples, see the calibre Plugins forum. A tutorial on getting started with plugin development, is available.

Contributing translations to calibre

calibre has support for translating its user interface. You can see the list of languages for which translations exist here. If the translations for your language are incomplete/missing, you can contribute the translations using a simple web-based interface. To do so first create an account in Transifex, then click on your language in this page. Click on the "Join Team" button. Once you have been approved, simply click on the language you want to translate here and use the "Translate Now" button to contribute your translations.

Alternatively you can download the PO file to do your translations offline by using the "Download for translation" link instead of the Translate Now button. You can edit the PO file using your favorite translation software and when you are done, upload the file by clicking the "Upload file" link (which is just below the Download for translation link).

Translations FAQ

  • What to do with the & symbols?
    The & symbols denote a keyboard shortcut. So for example the string "&Title" means that the corresponding GUI element can be accessed with the keyboard shortcut "Alt+t" (this only works on windows/linux). So in your translation leave the & symbol before the same letter if possible, or some other suitable letter.
  • What to do with the "%A_Word" characters?
    The % character and a word to the right of it (no space between the percentage sign and the word), denotes a word that will be replaced by the code. So when encountering this symbol and a word right next to it (example: %default), don't change it. Keep it as is in the translated sentence. Similarly for sequences like %s or %d, leave them as is. Finally, sequences like %(some_word)s should also be left unchanged.
  • What do do with date strings like dd MMM yyy?
    These must be left untranslated.
  • What to do with the special markup when translating the User Manual?
    The User Manual is written in ReSTructured Text. You will see many constructs like :guilabel:`Some text`. Here the :guilabel:`` part is markup, like HTML tags. You should only translate the text within the backticks. Particular care must be taken with links, of the following forms:
    • :ref:`some text` Here nothing must be translated.
    • :ref:`Some text <link-location>` Here only "Some text" must be translated
    • :doc:`generated/en/something` Should be replaced by :doc:`generated/your_language_code/something`. For example :doc:`generated/en/cli-index` becomes :doc:`generated/de/cli-index` in German.
  • How do I test my translations?
    First you need to download a .po file for your language from here. You can test your .po file by running calibre from the command line from the directory in which the .po file resides. This is only tested in Linux. On windows also it should work. On OSX, since you can't launch the GUI from the command line, try putting the .po file in your home directory. Note that the .po file must be named according to the language, so for German it would be de.po, for French fr.po and so on. Normally, when getting the file from Transifex, it is named correctly automatically. Currently, it is not possible to test the User Manual translations.

Becoming a calibre developer

Get the source:

git clone git://github.com/kovidgoyal/calibre.git

Or if you dont want to wait for the full version history to download, you can get only the source code:

curl -L http://status.calibre-ebook.com/dist/src | tar xvJ

Instructions for getting calibre to run using your source checkout, as well as some info about how the calibre code is organized is in the User Manual.

If you come up with a cool idea and a patch for implementing it, let us know about it and more than likely it will be in the next weekly calibre release. A great place to ask for tips on calibre hacking is the calibre Development forum where lots of calibre developers hang out.