Calibre 0.7 中的新功能

从Calibre 0.6.0发布到现在已经将近一年了, 从那时起Calibre已经走过了很长一段路。Calibre的灵活性一直令人惊叹。 0.6版本完全是为了给转换引擎和设备支持带来灵活性。 时至今日,Calibre支持从/到数十种格式的转换,并可以连接数十种设备。 0.7版本的重点是为Calibre用户界面带来同样的灵活性。

为此,用户现在可以自由调整所有主要用户界面元素的大小, 将他们自己的自定义元数据添加到图书列表,并将他们自己的类别 添加到“标记浏览器”。

另一个主要的改进领域是性能。calibre的各个部分都看到了优化和缓存的改进。 启动时间和大型书库的性能都得到了显著的改进。 在拥有一万本书的书库中,您将看到启动速度和编辑元数据 等常见操作的速度提高了10到100倍。

连接到设备时,Calibre现在会缓存从设备上的文件中读取的元数据。 这意味着在随后的连接中,Calibre将非常快速地在设备上建立图书列表。 如果你喜欢在你的设备上保存大量的书籍藏品, 你会发现这个功能简直是天赐之物。

其中一些改进将在下面更详细地描述。

  • 用户界面改进

    查看用户界面改进的最佳方式是观看上面链接的视频。对于那些不能做到这一点的人, 这里有一个简短的描述。

    现在,您可以通过“首选项->界面(加号按钮)将自己的列添加到图书列表中。 您可以添加自己的评分、是/否、标记、日期等列, 并将它们显示在书目中。可以像编辑内置列一样编辑这些列的内容, 方法是双击单个条目或使用“编辑元信息”按钮。

    您可以自由调整“标记浏览器”和“图书详细信息”窗格的大小,并通过右键单击列标题轻松显示/隐藏列。 您还可以通过拖动列的标题来重新排列列。

    您可以通过右键单击“标记浏览器”中的类别来显示/隐藏类别,并通过单击“管理用户类别”按钮添加自己的类别以进行快速访问。 也可以通过右键单击“标记浏览器”中的条目来编辑条目。这将改变它们对所有书籍的值。 例如,如果更改作者的姓名,则此更改将出现在该作者的所有图书的元数据中。

    您可以保存常用搜索,只需在Tag Browser中单击一下即可将其调出。 您还可以使用保存的搜索来限制在Calibre中显示的内容。这将限制图书列表和标记浏览器。 实际上,您已经暂时将您的calibre藏书减少到仅与搜索匹配的图书。

    现在您可以合并图书记录,并让calibre自动将元数据和格式合并到一个条目中。 通过编辑元信息按钮旁边的箭头访问。

    现在,您可以在搜索时使用正则表达式,也可以使用关系运算符,如date:>;yesterday

    calibre 现在可以选择从 amazon.com 下载标签/评论/评价

  • 设备驱动程序改进

    现在,连接支持的设备时,Calibre会在“主书库视图”中显示“在设备上”列。 此栏可用于一目了然地查看您的书库中的哪些图书也在该设备上。在设备视图中有一个附加的“在书库”列,它显示设备上的哪些图书在您的书库中。 由于您可以对这些列进行排序和搜索,因此快速查看设备上有哪些图书变得非常容易。 例如,搜索“不在设备上:主书库 and 不在设备上:卡片”将显示书库中不在设备上的所有图书。 此功能与您从Calibre 0.7开始发送到设备的图书配合使用效果最好。

    calibre缓存设备上所有书籍的元数据。这意味着当您重新连接设备时,在设备上创建图书列表的速度将非常快。 尤其是如果你的设备上有很多大的ODF文件,这将大大减少 calibre连接到设备和显示图书列表所需的时间。

    用户现在可以指定在使用“发送到设备”操作时放置在设备上的文件的文件夹结构和文件名。 这对于允许浏览设备上文件夹结构的设备非常有用。 可通过“首选项”->“添加/保存”->“发送到设备”进行自定义, 也可以根据每个设备从“首选项”->“插件”->“设备接口插件”重写。

  • 性能改进

    如果您有一个拥有数千册或更多图书的大型书库,与0.6.0版本相比,您会注意到 在启动Calibre和执行类似更改元数据的常见编辑任务方面的显著性能提升。 此外,多亏了上面描述的设备缓存,如果您的设备上有大量藏书,则连接到设备应该会变得更快。

    新闻的下载速度也得到了提高(从0.6.27开始),使之成为真正的多线程。

  • 对转换引擎和元数据引擎的改进

    转换引擎现在支持RTF输入文档中的Unicode字符,并自动转换PDF输入文档的连字。

    Calibre现在可以在有数字版权限制(DRM)的TOPAZ和MOBI文件中设置元数据。

    在生成EPUB文件时,calibre现在创建基于SVG的封面,这些封面会自动拉伸以填充用于 读取它们的设备上的可用屏幕空间。

    Calibre现在可以转换 CHM 文件。

  • 创建目录

    现在,您可以通过单击“转换”按钮旁边的箭头轻松地生成Calibre书库中所有图书的目录。 目录可以是几种格式中的一种:XML、CSV、EPUB和MOBI,并且可以通过插件支持未来范围内的格式。 如果您以电子书格式生成目录,则在您下次连接它时,它将自动发送到您的电子书阅读器, 使您可以在阅读器上轻松浏览您的藏书。

  • 电子书阅读器的改进

    电子书阅读器现在有内置的字典查找功能。只需选择一个单词,然后单击鼠标右键即可使用 dict.org.上的词典服务器进行查找

    在阅读EPUB文件时,阅读器现在支持XHTML中嵌入的SVG。

  • USB 与 iPad 同步

    Calibre现在有了一个iPad的实验性驱动程序。如果你在Calibre运行的情况下 将iPad连接到你的电脑上,它应该会被检测到,你可以用Calibre将图书直接发送到iPad上的iBooks。 该驱动程序是通过在后台使用iTunes来工作的,所以你还需要安装iTunes,并在其中安装您的iPad。这适用于Windows和MacOS 10.5及更高版本。 当然,您还可以使用Calibre内容服务器在iPad上无线浏览您的Calibre藏书。 有关详细信息,请参阅 常见问题解答

  • 不兼容的更改

    0.7版本撤下了对未升级的索尼PRS 500的支持。此外,所有索尼驱动程序都已合并到一个驱动程序中, 因此,如果您以前自定义了索尼驱动程序,则必须重新进行自定义。 还要注意的是,Calibre将标签转换为集合,因此它将为您的阅读器上的现有图书创建新的集合,如果它们有标签,但设备上还没有集合的话。 您可以通过转到“首选项->插件->设备界面插件”并自定义Sony插件来关闭此行为。

    calibre书库的数据库架构已更改为支持自定义列。 虽然已经在努力确保向后兼容性,但是在升级到0.7版之后返回到0.6.x版本时可能会遇到问题,因此尽可能避免这种情况。

在此,也要向贡献了上述大部分主要新功能的所有开发人员表示衷心的感谢。这里有一份不完整的贡献者名单。

请注意,其中许多功能实际上是在 0.6.x 系列的生命周期中引入的。本文档介绍了与 0.6.0 相比的新功能。

选择你想要的语言

New in calibre 0.7

It has been nearly a year since calibre 0.6.0 was released and calibre has come a long way since then. calibre has always been amazingly flexible. 0.6 was all about bringing that flexibility to the conversion engine and device support. Today calibre supports conversion from/to dozens of formats and can connect to scores of devices. The focus of 0.7 is bringing that same flexibility to the calibre User Interface.

To that end, users now have the ability to freely resize all the major User Interface elements, add their own custom metadata to the book list, and add their own categories to the Tag Browser.

Another major area of improvement is performance. Various parts of calibre have seen optimization and caching improvements. Startup times and large library performance have been dramatically improved. With a library of ten thousand books, you will see an improvement of between 10 and a 100 times in the speed of startup and common operations like editing metadata.

When connecting to devices, calibre now caches the metadata it reads from the files on the device. This means that on subsequent connects calibre will build the list of books on the device very fast. If you like to keep large collections of books on your device, you will find this feature a godsend.

Some of these improvements are described in more detail below.

  • User Interface improvements

    The best way to see the user interface improvement is watch the video linked to above. For those of you that cannot, here's a short description.

    You can now add your own columns to the book list, via Preferences->Interface (the plus button). You can add your own ratings, yes/no, tags, date, etc. columns and have them appear in the booklist. The contents of these columns can be edited just like a builtin column, by either double clicking on individual entries or using the Edit meta information button.

    You can freely resize the Tag Browser and Book Details pane and easily show/hide columns by right clicking on their headers. You can also re-arrange columns by dragging their headers.

    You can show/hide categories in the Tag Browser by right clicking on them and add your own categories for quick access, by clicking the Manage user categories button. You can also edit entries in the Tag Browser by right clicking on them. This will change their value for all book. For example, if you change the name of an author, this change will appear in the metadata of all the books by that author.

    You can Save you frequently used searches and bring them up with a single click in the Tag Browser. You can also use the saved searches to restrict what is shown in calibre. This will restrict the book list as well as the Tag Browser. In effect, you have temporarily reduced you calibre collection to only the books matching the search

    .

    You can now merge book records and have calibre automatically merge the metadata and formats into a single entry for you. Accessed via the arrow next to the edit meta information button.

    You can now use regular expression when searching and also relational operators like date:>yesterday.

    calibre can now optionally download tags/reviews/rating from amazon.com

  • Device driver improvements

    calibre now shows a "On Device" column in the main Library view when you connect a supported device. This column can be used to see at a glance what books in your library are also on the device. There is a complementary "In Library" column in the device views that shows what books on the device are in your library. Since you can sort and search on these columns, it becomes very easy to quickly see what books are on the device. For example, the search "not ondevice:main and not ondevice:card" will show you all the books in your library that are not on the device. This feature works best with books you send to the device from calibre 0.7 onwards.

    calibre caches the metadata of all books on the device. This means that when you re-connect the device creating the list of books on the device will be very fast. Especially if you have a number of large ODF files on your device, this will make a huge difference in the time that calibre takes to connect to the device and display the list of books.

    Users can now specify the folder structure and file name of files placed on the device when using the Send to Device action. This is useful for those devices that allow browsing of the on device folder structure. Customization is available via Preferences->Add/Save->Sending to device and can also be overridden on a per device basis from Preferences->Plugins->Device Interface plugins.

  • Performance improvements

    If you have a large library with thousand of books or more, you will notice significant performance gains in starting up calibre and doing common editing tasks like changing metadata, compared to 0.6.0. In addition, thanks to the device caching described above, connecting to devices should become much faster if you have large collections on your device.

    The download of news has been speeded up as well (as of 0.6.27) by making it truly multi-threaded.

  • Improvements in the conversion and metadata engines

    The conversion engine now supports unicode characters in RTF Input documents and auto-converts ligatures for PDF input documents.

    calibre can now set metadata in DRMed Topaz and MOBI files.

    When generating EPUB files, calibre now creates SVG based covers, that automatically stretch to fill up the available screen real estate on the device used to read them.

    calibre can now convert CHM files.

  • Creation of catalogs

    You can now easily generate a catalog of all books in your calibre library by clicking the arrow next to the convert button. The catalog can be in one of several formats: XML, CSV, EPUB and MOBI, with scope for future formats via plugins. If you generate the catalog in an e-book format, it will be automatically sent to your e-book reader the next time you connect it, allowing you to easily browse your collection on the reader itself.

  • E-book viewer improvements

    The e-book viewer now has builtin dictionary lookup. Just select a aword and right click to look it up using the dictionary servers at dict.org

    The viewer now supports SVG embedded in XHTML when viewing EPUB files.

  • USB syncing with the iPad

    calibre now has an experimental driver for the iPad. If you connect the iPad to your computer with calibre running, it should be detected and you can send books directly to iBooks on the iPad with calibre. The driver works by using iTunes in the background, so you also need to have iTunes installed and your iPad setup in it. This works on Windows and OS X 10.5 and higher. And of course, you can browse you calibre collection wirelessly on the iPad with the calibre content server. For details see the FAQ.

  • Incompatible changes

    0.7 drops support for the un-upgraded SONY PRS 500. In addition all the SONY drivers have been combined into a single driver, so if you previously customized a SONY driver, you will have to redo the customization. Also note that, calibre turns tags into collections, so it will create new collections for existing books on your reader, if they have tags but don't already have collections on the device. You can turn off this behavior by going to Preferences->Plugins->Device Interface plugins and customizing the SONY plugin.

    The database schema of the calibre library has changed to support custom columns. While effort has been spent to try to ensure backwards-compatibility, you may have problems going back to an 0.6.x release after upgrading to 0.7, so avoid this, if possible.

This is an appropriate time to trow out a big thank you to all the calibre developers who have contributed most of the major new features listed above. An incomplete list of contributors is available here.

Note that many of these features were actually introduced during the lifetime of the 0.6.x series. This document describes new features as compared to 0.6.0