Calibre 0.8 中的新功能

在过去的一年里,calibre-land发生了很多变化。比如有一个很大的特点, "获取书籍功能":您可以通过书名和作者搜索书籍,从返回的销售此电子书的网店列表中找到你想要的, 热门的且最低价的电子书; 当然,它也支持从其它许多数据源中搜索到电子书。

在过去的一年里,我们也见证了calibre插件基础架构的成熟,这让我们看到了一个充满活力的 用户开发的插件社区, 在插件社区里面,用户以多种新颖的方式扩展了calibre的功能。请看插件索引

calibre 有一个全新的元数据下载系统,让你对这个过程有更多的控制。例如,现在可以从许多不同的在线来源中选择一个封面。

与往常一样,calibre已经获得了对数十种新设备的支持,一些新格式的转换,特别是SNB和pucker格式。calibre的性能有了很大的提高,特别是拥有数万册图书的大型图书馆。

虽然与calibre没有直接关系,但一个新的网站已经启动,该网站对销售的无限制访问的电子书进行编目: 开放图书。 该网站上的所有书籍都可以出售,但它们没有DRM,这意味着您实际上是在付款后才拥有它们。 您可以将它们转换为不同的格式, 修复其中的打字错误,在任意多个设备上查看它们。 在Calibre,我们相信免费DRM是数字信息的未来, 而"开放图书"是帮助加速这一未来的一小部分努力。

下面将详细描述这些功能以及更多新功能。

  • 获取书籍

    Calibre现在可以在十几家网络商店搜索,如亚马逊、巴诺书店、Waterstone等, 寻找你想要的电子书版本。 搜索结果按价格排序显示,因此您可以轻松找到价格最低的版本 添加到您的收藏中。 这个功能,就像Calibre的其他功能一样,是基于插件的,所以期待着未来会有新的商店加入。

    请注意,如果您以前在Calibre中自定义了工具栏,则可能看不到工具栏中的“获取图书”按钮。 您可以转到首选项->工具栏&;菜单并手动将其添加到工具栏。

    首项 第二
  • 大量的新插件

    Calibre已经获得了数十个新的、用户贡献的插件,以增强其已经广泛的功能集。 这些功能的范围从在您的Calibre书库中查找重复项到在您的Calibre范围内管理 您的Kindle上的藏书。

    许多插件效果只影响到calibre用户的一部分,例如,一个将Calibre中的封面设置为索尼阅读器屏幕保护程序的插件。 如果你有一些你一直想要做的事情,很有可能,有人已经为它编写了一个插件。

    有一个易于浏览的插件索引。 在随意将插件添加到Calibre之前,您应该 阅读插件简介

    Happy plugging!

  • 新的元数据下载系统

    calibre 现在有一个新的元数据下载系统。它能够提高下载性能,并让你更大程度地控制calibre从哪里下载以及下载什么。例如,你可以告诉 calibre,不要下载亚马逊的评级和标签,也不要下载谷歌的评论。

    在下载书籍封面时,现在 calibre 会从所有的在线资源中下载封面,让你挑选出最喜欢的封面。

    同时下载多本书的元数据时,下载任务会在后台进行,用户可以在下载过程中继续其他的工作。

    首项 第二
  • 界面改进

    calibre主要用户界面进行了改头换面。它有多种布局,宽的和窄的,可以从“首选项中选择->外观和感觉”选择。 “编辑元数据”对话框(Calibre中最常用的对话框之一)也重新设计了多个可选布局,这一次是从“首选项->行为”选择。 同样,“图书详细信息”面板现在完全可以从“首选项->外观和感觉”中进行用户定制。

    为了节省垂直方向的空间,Calibre中的旧双工具栏被新的单一“统一”工具栏所取代。 现在,您可以添加第二个工具栏甚至菜单栏,并自定义每个工具栏中显示的图标。

    最后,重新设计了首选项对话框,这是一个通常被忽略的小块区域,使您可以更容易地找到您正在寻找的设置。

    首项 第二 第三
  • 内容服务器改进

    Calibre 内容服务器完全重新设计了“现代”(基于AJAX的、动态的))用户界面,允许浏览按标签/系列/作者/等分类的书库

    首项 第二 第三
  • 电子书阅读器的改进

    一个新的“检查”功能,允许你右击电子书中的任何内容并查看负责呈现它的HTML+CSS代码。 这是一个让电子书创作者/修改者了解电子书背后发生的事情的一个好方法。

    在阅读器中使用页面滚动模式时,会出现新的“翻页动画”。对于那些不喜欢它的人,可以在查看器首选项中将其关闭。

  • 转换引擎改进

    Calibre的转换引擎现在可以自动将直引号、连字符、圆点等转换成排版上高雅的对等符号。 此选项在转换设置的外观部分称为“智能标点符号”。

    在在主界面中的一个有用的新功能是“微调EPUB”,可以通过右键单击任何书籍来访问。这向您展示了EPUB的内部结构,允许您轻松地进行小的修改,而不需要启动一个功能齐全的电子书编辑程序。

    Calibre学会了如何转换几种新的格式:SNB和Plucker。

  • 书库管理的改进

    0.8版本带来了很多好东西,让您更轻松地管理不断增长的电子书藏书:

    • 元数据搜索和替换:您现在可以通过批量元数据编辑对话框对Calibre书库中的图书列表执行搜索和替换操作。
    • 元数据插板:让Calibre在发送到设备时自动转换文件的元数据。例如,如果您的设备不支持系列元数据,您可以要求Calibre将系列附加到标题中。请参阅“首选项->元数据插板”
    • 一种功能强大的新模板语言:在从Calibre书库或上面的元数据插板导出图书时,您可以使用它从图书元数据构造复杂的文件名,或者创建在图书列表中显示组合或转换的元数据的“虚拟列”。
    • 虚拟列:这些是可以添加到Calibre的自定义列,用于显示来自其他字段的元数据。例如,ISBN列或显示图书格式的列。


在此,也要向贡献了上述大部分主要新功能的所有开发人员表示衷心的感谢。这里有一份不完整的贡献者名单。

请注意,其中许多功能实际上是在 0.7.x 系列的生命周期中引入的。本文档介绍了与 0.7.0 相比的新功能。

查看 calibre 以前的主版本中的新功能:0.7.

选择你想要的语言

New in calibre 0.8

Lots has changed in calibre-land in the last year. A great feature is "Get Books" which allows you to search for a book by title and author and returns the list of web stores that sell it in ebook form, allowing you to easily find the lowest prices for popular books or search many different places for hard to find ebook editions.

The last year has also seen the maturing of the calibre plugin infrastructure, which has led to a vibrant community of user developed plugins that extend calibre's functionality in many novel ways. See the Index of plugins.

calibre has an all new metadata download system that allows you much more control over the process. For example, you can now choose a cover from many different online sources.

As always, calibre has gained support for dozens of new devices, conversion of a few new formats, notably, SNB and the Plucker formats. The performance of calibre has been greatly improved, especially with large libraries of tens of thousands of books.

While not directly calibre related, a new website that catalogues unrestricted access ebooks for sale was started: Open Books. All the books on this website are for sale, but they do not have DRM, which means you actually own them after paying for them. You can convert them to different formats, fix typos in them, view them on as many devices as you like. At calibre, we believe that DRM free is the future of digital information and Open Books is a small effort to help speed that future along.

These and many more new features are described in detail below.

  • Get Books

    calibre can now search over a dozen web stores like Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Waterstones, etc. for ebook editions of the book you want. The results are displayed sorted by price, so you can easily find the lowest priced edition to add to your collection. This feature, like the rest of calibre is plugin based, so look forward to new stores being added in the future.

    Note that if you have customized your the toolbar in calibre in the past, you may not see the Get Books button in the toolbar. You can go to Preferences->Toolbar and add it to the toolbar manually.

    First Second
  • Lots of new calibre plugins

    calibre has gained dozens of new, user-contributed, plugins to enhance its already extensive feature set. These range from things like finding duplicates in your calibre library to managing collections on your Kindle from within calibre.

    Many of the plugins scratch an itch that affects only a subset of calibre users, for example, a plugin to set a cover from calibre as the screensaver on your SONY reader. If you have something that you always wanted to do in calibre, chances are, someone has written a plugin for it.

    There is an easy to browse Index of plugins. Before adding plugins willy-nilly to calibre, you should read the Introduction to plugins.

    Happy plugging!

  • New metadata download system

    calibre now has a new metadata download system. This is designed to improve download performance and give you greater control over exactly what calibre downloads from where. You can tell calibre that you do not want ratings and tags from amazon or comments from google, for example.

    When downloading covers for a single book, calibre will now download covers from all the online sources and allow you to pick the one you like best, instead of choosing for you.

    When downloading metadata for multiple books, the download now happens in the background, allowing you to continue working while the download is happening.

    First Second
  • Interface improvements

    The main calibre user interface has had a makeover. It has multiple layouts, wide and narrow, selectable from Preferences->Look & Feel. The Edit metadata dialog (one of the most frequently used dialogs in calibre) was also redesigned with multiple selectable layouts, this time from Preferences->Behavior. In the same vein the Book details panel is now fully user customizable from Preferences->Look & Feel.

    The old double toolbar in calibre were replaced by a new single "unified" toolbar, to save vertical space. You can now add a second toolbar or even a menubar and customize what icons appear in each.

    Finally, the Preferences dialog, a normally neglected bit of real estate was redesigned making it easier to find just the setting you are looking for.

    First Second Third
  • Content Server improvements

    The calibre Content Server was completely redesigned with a "modern" (AJAX based, dynamic) user interface that allows for the browsing of your library by Tags/Series/Authors/etc.

    First Second Third
  • E-book viewer improvements

    A new "Inspect" feature which allows you to right click on anything in an ebook and see the HTML+CSS code that is responsible for rendering it. A great way for ebook creators/tweakers to understand what goes on behind the scenes in an ebook.

    A new "page turn animation" when using the page scrolling mode in the viewer. For thos of you that dont like it, it can be turned off in the viewer preferences.

  • Conversion engine improvements

    calibre's conversion engine can now automatically convert straight quotes, hyphens, dots, etc. into their typographically snobbish equivalents. This option is called "Smarten punctuation" in the Look & Feel section of the conversion settings.

    A useful new feature in the main calibre interface is "Tweak EPUB", accessed by right clicking on any book. This shows you the internals of the EPUB, allowing you to easily make small corrections, without needing to fire up a full fledged ebook editing program.

    calibre learned how to convert a couple of new formats: SNB and Plucker.

  • Library management improvements

    0.8 brings lots of goodies to make manage your ever growing ebook collection easier:

    • Metadata search and replace: You can now perform search and replace operations on the book list in your calibre library via the Bulk metadata edit dialog.
    • Metadata plugboards: Have calibre automatically transform the metadata of files when sending to device. For example, you can ask calibre to append the series to the title, in case your device does not support series metadata. See Preferences->Metadata plugboards
    • A powerful new template language: You can use this to construct complex file names from book metadata when exporting books from the calibre library, or in the metadata plugboards above, or to create "virtual columns" that display combined or transformed metadata in the book list.
    • Virtual columns: These are custom columns you can add to calibre that display metadata from other fields. For example and ISBN column or a column to show the formats the book has.


This is an appropriate time to throw out a big thank you to all the calibre developers who have contributed most of the major new features listed above. An incomplete list of contributors is available here.

Note that many of these features were actually introduced during the lifetime of the 0.7.x series. This document describes new features as compared to 0.7.0

See what was new in previous major calibre releases: 0.7.